Whole10

This morning the manfriend and I woke up and high-fived each other on a successful Whole10. (Except that I’m lying about the whole high-five part. Because mornings are rough and I felt like death when the alarm went off.)

And I know what you’re gonna ask. What’s Whole10? Is it anything like Whole30? To which I would reply, yes! It is exactly like Whole30! In fact, it’s so like Whole30 that it IS Whole30 except for, you know, it’s only 10 days. Which is kind of silly because it’s basically all of the awfulness of Whole30 and none of the benefits.

So, why did we do this? Because despite maintaining our healthy, Whole30 ways since September, the manfriend and I have slipped a bit. We used to treat ourselves on one weekend day… which, over time, became both weekend days… and then Friday nights… and then Friday morning for my one weekly latte… and then all the sudden we were, like, the worst Whole30 spokespersons ever. (I don’t think that’s actually a thing.)

Then we moved and I swear the only thing I packed was the kitchen so I’d have an excuse to eat out every night. Because FUCK. COOKING. (I’m only slightly resentful of all the cooking I have to do to be healthy. Some days I’m not even sure why I want to be healthy at all! And I think that if I were one of those girls who could eat whatever she wanted and still be a size 2, I’D BE THAT GIRL. And Whole30 wouldn’t even mean anything to me! Because I’d be too busy eating and being thin. Except I’m not that girl. I’m the girl who looks at food and gains weight. No, really. I sniffed a donut yesterday and my pants got tighter.)

So, after all the sweets (oh, the sweets) and eating out, I asked the manfriend to participate in a reset of sorts with me. Just 10 days, I said. And he halfheartedly (at best) agreed.

And while 10 days may have been all I needed (we’ll see), I’ve been arguing with myself over just finishing the full 30 days because I know it’s about to get SO GOOD. All the energy and other good stuff kicks in halfway through and it’s awesome. Seriously, I tell my manfriend often that I don’t really want to do Whole30 again, but I totally miss the way it makes me feel.

Then he reminds me of our plans tonight which include a glass of wine and I’m like, 10 days was the perfect amount of time.

Talk to me