This wasn’t in the budget.

There were so many other things I wanted to tell you about. Unfortunately, trumping all of those is my little traffic accident while stuck in bumper-to-bumper on the 5 freeway this afternoon. I know I should count my blessings, things could have been so much worse, blah blah blah… Can’t I have just a brief moment of “why me?” This totally sucks and I’m mad. Really good and mad. I mean, haven’t I dealt with enough this year? Do I really deserve this on top of everything else? Is this what I get for feeling down today? Is this what I get for indulging in a little pity party, for feeling down on my current living situation? For contemplating the idea of renting a room somewhere? Don’t I deserve a room with, you know, a real, live door? Oh, didn’t I mention that? There is NO DOOR on my bedroom. Here’s where I let it all out in the open, ’cause I’m (eventually) honest about everything. My room at my mother’s has NO DOOR. I’m grateful to have a room! I am! And it’s rent-free! Awesome! And hundreds of other exclamation points for good reasons! Like my health! And my family! And their health! And a three-day holiday weekend! It’s all wonderful and awesome! Exclamation point! But, you know what? I could have done without my front bumper making friends with the little red Ford Focus in front of me. I would have been grateful for the use of my driver’s side door, which is now stuck shut. I would have been happy to keepthe $1,000+ that it’ll cost me after all is said and done. And, damn it, I don’t think I’m a terrible person for wanting a room with a DOOR. The end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This wasn’t in the budget.

  1. kerryanne says:

    Oh dear- so sorry. About the car and no door. Yes, you definitely deserve a door. Can you put up a sheet or something? 😦

  2. Gayle says:

    Oh, no. I'm so sorry. I'm sending hugs and wishes that things will get a lot better, fast.

  3. Alias Mother says:

    God I love you in a snit. Because you sound just like me in a snit.I find a good, wholesome howl of rage is key to turning bad momentum around. Plus, it's amusing to your internet friends. So rage, baby, rage.

  4. MichelleSG says:

    Oh man that bites. The car and the lack of a door. I totally agree with your pity party, I'd have one myself in the same situation. There are days when you just want do-overs….

  5. Rachel says:

    If you’re a tattoo type, I’d advocate you getting a lotus when this trend of being shat upon all blows over. (http://kassapa.org/2008/08/09/the-significance-of-the-lotus/)

  6. Debbie W says:

    That sucks….bad. The accident is bad enough….but to have to crawl out on the passenger side ~ again…sucks bad.What sucks worse than all of the above….no door on your room! I have an extra one in my attic….would gladly share if not for me being about 3,000 miles away.

  7. rory says:

    Tear both doors off, crank the tunes and drive with a 'tude.Cowboy boots and shorts help.

  8. Pingback: Five. Looking on the bright side.

Talk to me

