I love Halloween. I do not love candy corn.

I don’t know when the hatred for this wax-coated candy started, or why, but all I can say is… the sight of candy corn, the smell of it, even saying “candy corn” makes me want to… well, gag.

But something about this gourmet-flavored candy corn I found on display at Target intrigued me. Or made me want to vomit. Sometimes I just can’t tell the difference.

Toasted S’mores, my ass. As soon as the bag was opened, all I could smell was maple syrup. Now, I’m a fan of maple syrup. While the Husband and I spent a couple days in Vermont last year, we stopped at this maple… farm? Anyway, we stocked up on maple everything and I could have happily walked away with the entire selection of maple fudge. Holy shit, that was delicious.

(Note to self: plan return trip to Vermont ASAP.)

And I didn’t even finish it. As soon as I swallowed that waxy, grainy tip of concentrated sugar, my throat swelled shut, my eyeballs fell out of their sockets and I perished on the spot.

Okay, that’s only a slight exaggeration. Let’s just say I should have followed my instincts. My instincts that have told me for years that candy corn is the devil.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me

