Because the best days are the ones unplanned

The husband and I woke up early Saturday with plans of riding our bikes to the beach. I knew the Husband would agree to anything that involved riding, but I had an ulterior motive. The candy store in Huntington Beach.

It turned out to be one of the best days we’ve had in a long time.

We arrived much too early for the candy store to be open, so, after a quick trip to Starbucks, we wandered down to the pier and watched the surfers. I’ve come to one conclusion about surfers: they’re not as laid back as they want everyone to believe. In fact, I think they’re quite angry. Not even on the 5 freeway have I heard so many colorful words or seen so many one-fingered gestures.

The weather was gorgeous and I couldn’t have felt more at peace while we stood there, a cool breeze bathing my face, the sun warming the backs of my legs, Starbucks in hand, the smell of the ocean and sun screen… it was glorious. We stayed just that way for a long while.

It was back on Main Street when we decided to stop and have breakfast. We sat down at a table on the patio of the Longboard Cafe and ordered breakfast. And a delicious peach mimosa. Or three. Who’s counting? The omelet I ordered was fantastic with bacon, turkey, avocado, tomatoes, and lots of gooey cheddar cheese. I was more convinced than ever that breakfast is the best meal of the day. It’s why we have pancakes for dinner so often. Or The Husband’s favorite egg sandwiches. Now I’m getting hungry.

After our third cocktail, I was feeling pleasantly warm and light-hearted and convinced the Husband to stop at Sharkeez, a bar I would never normally suggest. I’ve never felt like I fit in with the crowds of young people that frequent the bars in downtown Huntington Beach, but then… I’m an old lady. An old 25-year-old lady.

Finally, it was time to head home. But first, we had one more important piece of business to see to. Dipping our feet in. The beach was still crowded, the sun just beginning to make it’s descent. It was still wonderfully warm out and the water felt incredible. Warm enough that had I been wearing my swim suit, I would’ve jumped in. I’m sure the alcohol helped.

We made quick work of riding home. The alcohol, the sun, the wonderful day… it was more than I’m used to. I couldn’t help but fall asleep and take a late nap. The husband woke me in time to see Michael Phelps win his eighth gold medal, I made nachos and it was back to bed.

I really love those days that start out as one thing and turn into something completely different and unexpected and wonderful. They’re few and far between for someone like me that tends to over think everything and has much too high expectations. When these days come along, I have to grab hold and enjoy them for what they’re worth.

This entry was posted in Chocolate & Whine. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me

