So Freaking Mad

I recently decided I needed to see a doctor. I just don’t think I should be so tired all the time.

I wanted to get a physical and some blood work done just to make sure everything was as it should be.

Well, yesterday a friend said perhaps it was an under-active thyroid. Had no clue what he was talking about, but when I got home I looked it up was shocked at what I found.

Every single symptom it listed for hypothyroidism is something I’ve been experiencing lately, and have been brushing off, thinking it was caused by something else.

Coarse or thinning hair. I just thought my hair was falling out because I have so much of it!

Slow body movements and speech. Do you know how many times I’ve had someone tell me that I’m slow?

Inability to tolerate cold. If I hear the husband say “It’s not that cold” one more time I’ll have to hit him! My teeth start to chatter and I start shivering at the slightest chill. I put on jeans, a long sleeved shirt and a sweater every night and there is always a blanket over my legs. (We live in southern California.)

Feeling sluggish, tired, or weak. My main complaint.

Memory problems, depression, or difficulty concentrating. No depression, but I always chalked the memory problems and difficulty concentrating up to being ADD.

Constipation. I am. Every week. I thought it was due to the diet, but couldn’t figure out why my body wasn’t more regular since I was getting in so much fiber.

Heavy or irregular menstrual periods. My only question mark. My periods have been irregular since they started, so who knows.

Sure, maybe it’s something else or maybe it’s nothing at all, but considering that I am experiencing all of these things and they are all listed as symptoms of hypothyroidism makes me want to get it checked out.

Well, tonight, the husband is giving me a hard time for not “taking care of him”. It’s kind of a joke, but tonight we’re both tired and cranky and there might be some truth behind his frustration that I didn’t know he was out of hot dogs. Give me a fucking break. I am not that kind of wife and he knew it long before we got married.

I don’t eat hot dogs and I am not going to check to see if he’s out of them every day so I can run to the store and buy some ASAP.

Okay, I’m getting side tracked.

After he made the comment I said “Well, maybe when I get myself taken care of, I’ll be more up to taking care of you.”

Then he proceeds to tell me there’s nothing wrong with me and it’s all in my head!

Bastard.

I’m surprised that he wouldn’t be more supportive about getting this checked out. Even if it isn’t hypothyroidism, wouldn’t he want me to find out what’s causing me to be so tired all the time?

Does he really enjoy me being so lethargic that I can’t run out and get his fucking hot dogs?

This entry was posted in Must Stop Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So Freaking Mad

  1. Anonymous says:

    well that doesnt seem very considerate of him at ALL. get it checked out for sure, easy blood test to check the thyroid hormones. hypothyroidism can also lead to weight gain….imagine if you could speed it up..that might help shed some pounds!

  2. SAM says:

    No kidding! I almost hope I have it.That’s a joke! Don’t worry, I very much hope I’m healthy. šŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous says:

    haha no worries i have hoped for that too.

Talk to me

